CLARKSBURG, W.Va. (WBOY) — West Virginia House Bill 2310 was signed into law by Gov. Jim Justice last Monday, March 6, per the state legislature’s website. The law, among other things, requires vehicles in West Virginia to have an official state inspection once every two years instead of yearly.
The bill changes Article 16 of the West Virginia State Code to now say: “The Superintendent of the West Virginia State Police shall require that every motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer, and pole trailer registered in this state be inspected once every two years and that an official certificate of inspection and approval be obtained for each vehicle: Provided, That the amendments made to this subsection during the 2023 regular session of the Legislature shall become effective on January 1, 2024.”
Another primary change to the West Virginia vehicle inspection process will be an increase in price from $14 to $19 for an inspection. Despite the price hike, the change will save drivers money in the long run.
Del. Gary Howell introduced the bill in the West Virginia House of Delegates on Jan. 11, 2023, and received several amendments by the House and Senate before passing on March 3.
The full bill can be found here.